Gemstones – “Novel Of Nothing “

Novel Of Nothing record cover

If you’ve been paying attention at all you probably already know that I have a thing for garage bands from Canada. So when Gemstones came on my radar I started foaming at the mouth.

On April 23, 2021 Gemstones released a 4 song 7″ titled ” Novel Of Nothing”.
So let’s be real for a second. The average listener would probably not be into the quality of these 4 songs. However for a geek like me who loves the warm analog tascam porta2 Type of feel, and I’m assuming you’re here for that exact reason, will automatically fall in love with these songs.

Album photos taken from the bands bandcamp page.



All 4 tracks feel like it’s pure nostalgia. It’s most likely not what the band was going for but I get an early Lemonheads feel to this. Ya know when they were still an underground punk band.



Gemstones features members of Eric’s Trip/Bad Vibrations/Dog Day/Booji Boys/Moonsocket etc.



” Novel Of Nothing” has pretty much everything you want. It’s got the perfect amount if reverb, the pop sensibility of bands like The Undertones and The Buzzcocks, and the raw sludge feel of early Huskr Du or even some Sonic Youth slapped in there between the lines. Now I may be totally off on all of that but who cares right? I fucking love this record and I think you should too. Check it out….

Here’s a link to the bandcamp page.

https://gemstones.bandcamp.com/album/novel-of-nothing

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started